Teal Power Canuck

Sharing My Journey & Raising Cervical Awareness in Canada

No One Fights Alone

18 Comments

Some of my oldest and dearest friends - the crew I call my O6's - came to my birthday all wearing #TEALPOWER in support of me.

Some of my oldest and dearest friends – the crew I call my O6’s – came to my birthday all wearing #TEALPOWER

I’ve always been a believer in the saying you’re only as good as those that surround you – which is why I surround myself with amazing people :). I’ve always had a great support system of friends and family. My support from my loved ones was reinforced last year when I started my PR company, but my cancer diagnosis proved it 100 times more. No one fights alone – and today’s post is one that is really important for me. It is for those who help me fight everyday and spread the #TEALPOWER.

When I started telling my friends and family about my diagnosis everyone instantly was asking how they could help – sending care packages, flowers… lots of flowers :), baked goods, magazines, etc. My birthday was at the beginning of December and Tyler threw me a party. We bribed my friends and family with the promise of some of our delish eats, but over 30 of my nearest and dearest trekked out to Burlington on a wintery day to come celebrate with me… it was the BEST day! The “country house” was packed of people from all cross sections of my life – work, theatre, my nieces, my parents, Ty’s friends… everywhere I turned another person that made me smile and meant the world to me. It was like standing in a room and getting a giant group hug from people telling me… you got this!

And then I started this blog. Those same friends and family all bound together to help get the word out because they care about me so much. And then the messages and comments started flowing in. People who I haven’t seen in years but knew on social media, people who I worked with, old teachers, my amazing clients, people I met once, people I didn’t even know – messages of support and love, people sharing their stories and my story. It means the world to me and keeps me strong each day. It’s weird to say I am the luckiest right now – but I am.

My family – you have been so amazing. My parents came home from their winter escape trip to be with me.

My mom decorated her home for Christmas with #TEALPOWER

My mom decorated her home for Christmas with #TEALPOWER

My brother has been awesome and always makes me laugh.

My brother, who I watch a lot of sporting events with went to the Winter Classic on New Years and took this pic. Spreading the #TEALPOWER

My brother, who I watch a lot of sporting events with went to the Winter Classic on New Years and took this pic. Spreading the #TEALPOWER

And my sister… you are a good big sister – I would be lost without your knowledge of human anatomy, our mutual love for Whole Foods peanut butter chunk cookies (which by the way, don’t taste the same unless we eat them together), and your company through many hard times. I love you all!

 

My sister and I clowning around before one of my chemo appointments

My sister and I clowning around before one of my chemo appointments

And last, but certainly never least… my boyfriend, Tyler. I often say to him, although this is happening to me physically, this is happening to the both of us. I commend all those partners and caregivers who take care of people like me. It often hits them harder than most and I appreciate all those who have reached out and checked up on him through all this. Ty and I were booked and ready to take a trip of a lifetime to the Philippines and Thailand in November.  And then this happened. A week before our trip we had to cancel because it was crucial timing to decide and start my treatment. It was heartbreaking for both of us, but Ty didn’t bat an eyelash because it meant saving my life. You have been by my side since day one. You are my best friend. You have seen me in my darkest moments of this disease and held me up. We have been faced with so many questions we never thought we would have to think about, not now.  You make everything so much better. One day babe, we’ll go on that trip, and its going to be so much better – cause we’ll have something to celebrate. Heart.

Ty and I at the Cheltenham Badlands shortly after I was diagnosed.

Ty and I at the Cheltenham Badlands shortly after I was diagnosed.

 

18 thoughts on “No One Fights Alone

  1. Ali you courage and strength are inspiring. I cannot wait to see you in person. I owe you a great big hug. Teal power!

  2. Alison it has been ages since I’ve seen you but as soon I picture your face, I remember the gigantic smile you always had! So happy to see you still smiling! Our prayers are with you xo

  3. Oh Ali, your strength and resilience is awe-inspiring, Thank you for allowing us to travel on your journey; a time that is far from easy. My words truly fall short of just how much I wish you good health and recovery. Much love and light from Australia xxoo

  4. Alison, you are one of the most positive people I know and always greet me like we only saw each other yesterday, although it’s been years since we shared the stage together. You are one heck of a fighter and I know you will beat this! Teal power rules!!
    ((((HUGS))))

  5. I am thoroughly enjoying your blog, Alison. Your words are inspirational and they especially rang true when you said ‘I commend all those partners and caregivers who take care of people like me. It often hits them harder than most…’ My Mom passed away from ALS in July 2012 and my father was her primary caregiver for the year and a half that she suffered from the awful disease. It’s amazing what your family and friends can do when they’re presented with life-changing circumstances. Keep fighting! #tealpower

    • Sorry to hear about your mother, Michelle. I hope you and your family are doing alright. I appreciate the kind words so much. Means a lot to me through this journey. So important to me to acknowledge those who go through this with you.

  6. Ali, thanks for putting into words what few people would be able to say. You are an amazing woman, always have been! Your smile lights up a room, and clearly it continues to do so! As always, even during a fight like this, you think of others before yourself, and that’s what makes all of us love you so much! xo

  7. All the best with your treatment! Looking forward to the day when nobody will have to deal with cancer 🙂

  8. As beautiful as ever and always smiling, just like I remember. Some things never change including your contagious smile and energy 🙂
    Keep strong and beat the crap out of this “cancer”. I wish you good health and a quick & speedy recovery . Thanks for sharing your journey with us.

  9. This is one of the rare things that I have read from start to finish and will continue to check in to see whats going on in that extraordinary talented brain of yours, we are all thinking of you in Sudbury. Breathe easy

Leave a Reply

