Teal Power Canuck

Sharing My Journey & Raising Cervical Awareness in Canada

1 year.

1 Comment

A year ago, my life changed.

Some cancer survivors consider their cancerversary the day they became “cancer free”. I consider mine today – the anniversary of when I was diagnosed – October 31, 2013.

I remember it like it was yesterday. I remember what I was wearing, that it was raining, and the way it felt when I was told I had cervical cancer. Some people may think it is weird to celebrate this – but I choose to celebrate how much has happened this year to me, both physically and mentally, and how I have overcome it.

I haven’t written on here since I was given the “all clear” in July. I wasn’t really sure what to write because I’ve had so many mixed emotions. I have a handful of partially written blog posts, but I never finished them. I am so lucky – I fought, and I won. I know I should just be happy about that. After I was told I was cancer free, part of me wanted to be rid of everything to do with cancer. Everyday I wonder if this is the day I won’t think about having cancer. But you never rid of it, even if you beat it – and there is nothing wrong with that.

Anyone who knows me knows I am pretty positive person – even through my sickness and treatment. What I have learned through my journey and in my “after cancer life” is that it is ok to be scared. It’s ok to cry on your bad days – I still have them. I constantly worry the cancer will come back. Every time my body feels off I get worried. I look at my scars everyday, and – especially lately – I have been feeling some side effects of my treatment. The after effects can be more emotional than being sick – cause you are just so done with it all. But c’est la vie en cancer. I still won. “When you face difficult times, know that challenges are not set to destroy you. They are sent to promote, increase and strengthen you.”

Something I never thought I would ever have to deal with at my age, I conquered. I am so grateful for that, and for all the love and support I have gotten this past year. That deserves to be celebrated – happy cancerversary to me!

#TEALPOWER

Mixed emotions today, but still feeling grateful for what I have learned this year #tealpower

Mixed emotions today, but still feeling grateful for what I have learned this year #tealpower

 

One thought on “1 year.

  1. happy cancerversary cuz! crazy the difference a year can make. through everything, you continue to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

